Strike the Blood Review

The Fourth Primogenitor—That’s the world’s strongest vampire that should only exist in legends. Accompanied by twelve Kenjuu and spreading calamity, this phantom vampire appeared in Japan. For the observation and obliteration of this Fourth Primogenitor, the government and Lion King decided to dispatch an attack mage known as a Sword Shaman. However, for some reason, the one chosen for the observation was a apprentice Sword Shaman girl, Himegari Yukina. Wielding the strongest anti-primogenitor spirit spear, Yukina arrived at Demon District, Itogami City. What is the true identity of the Fourth Primogenitor, Akatsuki Kojou, she encountered over there!?

(Source: Baka-Tsuki, edited)

First off, I would like to say that Strike the Blood involves vampires. I’m stating the painfully obvious for those who did not ever consider the idea nor read the synopsis I posted. I would also like to say that it isn’t half-bad. In fact, I think it is pretty good. The idea of vampires has been pretty overblown in the past few years and I love/hate it as much as some people though not to the extent of others. I am a supernatural/fantasy fan after all.
As the anime season goes on, I expect that we will learn Akatsuki Kojou’s past which is bound to be fairly interesting considering the snippet that was provided involved flames, a seemingly high tech crossbow, and a girl disappearing into ashes.
Despite the rumors about Akatsuki supposedly being evil and whatnot, he isn’t. He has the superpowers and all but prefers to live as a human, which he was before he turned into a vampire and the Fourth Primogenitor. I have yet to understand what a “Primogenitor” entitles but I think it will all explain itself as the story goes on.
Normally, I would stray away from titles that have “ecchi” as a genre tag but from the looks of it, it isn’t THAT bad. Nothing suggestive, at least so far. Just some not overly done panty flashes and Akatsuki’s nose bleeds over not so very perverted things. It could be just me thinking that considering I have seen ecchi that was almost borderline hentai but so far, I think it has been very subtle. If it can even be considered that.
Anyway, Strike the Blood seems pretty interesting so far. Give it a try if you have the time or nothing to watch. Maybe you’ll like it. Though I can’t guarantee you will. I probably have different tastes in anime compared to you after all.

2 thoughts on “Strike the Blood Review

  1. I’ve searched up the meaning of Primogenitor and the definition I found is…
    A forefather or ancestor
    or
    the first parent of earliest ancestor

Leave a Reply

