Kill La Kill Review

The story is set on a high school that the student council resident Satsuki Kiryuuin rules by force. Wielding a giant Basami scissors sword, the wandering transfer student Ryuuko Matoi brings about upheaval on the campus. Ryuuko searches for the mysterious figure who caused her father’s death, but confronting her are the student council’s “four divine kings.” Fortunately, Ryuuko is aided by a talking sailor uniform who tells her, “Wear me. When I am worn by you, this power will manifest.”

(Source: ANN)

My first impression of Kill La Kill is that it is so absolutely ridiculous, it is good. Ryuuko is pretty spunky and cool. Mako, her self-proclaimed “best friend” is somewhat cruel, amusing and just someone you just kind of don’t know what to do with.

When Ryuuko said that the city was weird, she hit it right on the dot. I might be wrong, but Kill La Kill is probably the weirdest anime of the fall season. The style of it reminds me of Danganronpa. Just without the evil teddy bear and students with the mission of killing someone to leave. It also gives me the feeling that there is more of a story behind it all.

Since I liked Ryuuko from the start, it was actually quite sad to see her get beaten up so easily. However, she does get her… talking super uniform as a result. The only problem with that is it is a bit blood thirsty and very skimpy. Now, that is just me being nice so it is much, much worse. I also have the feeling that all those super uniforms were made from a strand of fabric from Ryuuko’s skimpy uniform. If I am right, then both Ryuuko and I will be happy.

I really look forward to the series. There are a few characters that have caught my eye already besides the main. I look forward to the twists and turns. I would recommend this as an anime to watch but if you’re under 13, you might want to think about it first.

The story is set on a high school that the student council president Satsuki Kiryuuin rules by force. Wielding a giant Basami scissors sword, the wandering transfer student Ryuuko Matoi brings about upheaval on the campus. Ryuuko searches for the mysterious figure who caused her father’s death, but confronting her are the student council’s “four divine kings.” Fortunately, Ryuuko is aided by a talking sailor uniform who tells her, “Wear me. When I am worn by you, this power will become manifest.”(Source: ANN)
Read more at http://myanimelist.net/anime/18679/Kill_la_Kill#4tCbjh8JMp82Rovm.99

Leave a Reply

